Bailey Spencer Hardware Store was started in 1897 selling farm equipment, guns and hardware. It was one of the premiere businesses in Lynchburg’s early history. The original building on Main Street burnt down in the mid 1960’s. Following the fire, the business moved down to Commerce Street where one can still see the Bailey Spencer sign on the side of the Renaissance Theater. Between 1990 and 1991 the business was bought out by a group of owners who wanted to capitalize on the profits and liquefy the business. At this point, Scott Pearl, who was a vice president for a few years after coming over from several other local businesses (Craddock Terry and Winebarger), decided to make a move. With the terrible news of such a rich historic business closing, Scott decided to buy out the remaining inventory from the owners and take the business to 1216-1218 Main Street. Through determination and hard work he was able to save one of Lynchburg’s oldest businesses through a period where downtown Lynchburg was not business-friendly.
Today, Bailey Spencer operates still at 1216-1218 Main Street, direcly across from the Farmer's market and is a favorite place to visit for locals as well as visitors. The building itself has as much of a history as does the business. Being built in 1854, it was the original home to Lynchburg’s First Presbyterian Church. Bailey Spencer has expanded to be more than just a hardware store, offering three stories of stock from architectural antiques, historic stained glass, doors and columns to designing and producing chippendale doors. They are a licensed and insured contractor bringing the best to our locals.
Michael Pearl began his career at Bailey Spencer as a teenager working summers in between school. He left in 2003 to attend James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA where he received his Bachelors in Science with a Business Minor. After thirteen years away with stays between Washington DC and Richmond, VA, Michael returned home to Lynchburg to run the family business as his father heads into retirement. Through the values and experience learned from his father, Scott, along with the business practices he has learned over the years, he has created a one of kind hometown hardware store with a rich history that will keep growing for generations to come.
Bailey Spencer Welding was established in 2008 by Travis Pearl. Welding came early for Travis by learning the fundamentals at the age of 14 in vocational school. He loved it and quickly became a certified welder. Branching off from the family business, Bailey Spencer Hardware, and using the historic garage on Main Street, Travis was able to establish a respected reputation in Lynchburg and surrounding area for his ornamental iron work. Travis continued his education in metal work at Central Virginia Community College receiving diplomas/certificates in Machine Tool and Numerical Controls. In 2013 Travis moved away from his home town of Lynchburg to advance his career with Huntington Ingalls Shipyard in Newport News, VA. He gained valuable experience working on diverse projects including the Virginia Class nuclear submarines as an X43 machinist. Though work was great, he longed to return to Blue Ridge Mountains feeling he still had a lot to offer Lynchburg. As the business has matured, Travis has also taken up larger jobs working closely with local contractors on commercial projects. Bailey Spencer Welding offers a number of custom design products, including fencing, gates, railing as well as a mobile welding repair service.